Follow:

A TOTALLY AWKWARD LOVE STORY Blog Tour: ‘Top Five Awkward Dating Moments, Misunderstandings, or Mishaps’ Guest Post + Giveaway

A-Totally-Awkward-Love-Story-BT

I am totally stoked to be today’s stop on the A TOTALLY AWKWARD LOVE STORY Blog Tour. I have an hysterically funny guest post by the authors for my stop, as well as a giveaway for a copy of the book, which releases on May 3rd.TOM & LUCY PHOTOBOOTH-1

If you haven’t added A TOTALLY AWKWARD LOVE STORY to your TBR pile, now’s the perfect time… Have you done it yet? I can wait…

Hannah and Sam’s story is so much fun (I laughed so hard there were tears), incredibly awkward at times (the title is not at all misleading), and there are moments that will have you cringing for each of them. It is a super fast read, one you’ll definitely want to read again, with characters you’ll hope get their happily ever after.

So be sure to add this one to your spring/summer reading lists. But be advised there will be several laugh-out-loud instances – so avoid the late night read next to a sleeping loved one, a public transportation read that will make you look quite mad, or a library read that will get you booted.

Details about A TOTALLY AWKWARD LOVE STORY and its authors are below, along with Lucy Ivison and Tom Ellen’s top five awkward dating moments. And you can enter the giveaway for a copy of the book in the Rafflecopter form.

Also, be sure to visit each of the stops on the tour. I’ll be updating the schedule at the bottom of the post with direct links and details for each stop.


About A TOTALLY AWKWARD LOVE STORY

A Totally Awkward Love Story

Add to Goodreads

Title: A TOTALLY AWKWARD LOVE STORY
Authors: Tom Ellen and Lucy Ivison
Release date: May 3, 2016
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Pages: 320
Formats: Hardcover, audio, eBook

Description…

For fans of The DUFF, this hilarious and true-to-teen romance is Broad City meets Judy Blume.

The summer before college, Hannah swears she’s finally going to find The One. And for five perfect minutes, Hannah does find him. He’s cute and makes her laugh like crazy. She just wishes she’d caught his name, because Toilet Boy Cinderella really lacks sex appeal.

For Sam, the summer is off to a bad start for a million reasons. But for five minutes his luck changes: in a fancy restroom painted purple like it belongs in a Bond villain hideaway, Sam falls head over heels for some strange and hilarious girl. Of course, he doesn’t know her name. With his luck, he’ll never see her again, and he’ll remain a girlfriendless, moony-eyed virgin. Forever.

But another chance meeting brings them together, only to have a chance misunderstanding drive them apart . . . and then the cycle starts all over again. Madcap mishaps, raunchy hilarity, and deep romance follow these two wherever they go. For two people so clearly destined for each other, they sure have a hell of a lot of trouble even getting together.

AMAZON | BARNES & NOBLE | iTUNES | INDIEBOUND | PENGUIN RANDOM HOUSEGOODREADS

Praise

“An engaging and endearing story of what it is to find your place in the world and a person to share it with.” – Kirkus Reviews 

“…raunchy, irreverent slapstick in the vein of Louise Rennison’s Angus, Thongs, and Full-Frontal Snogging.” – Booklist

“There’s raunchy mishaps, total madcap hilarity, and, yes, even some romance. Basically the book will transport you back to your awkward teenage years.” – Bustle

“A fun romantic comedy.” – School Library Journal


The Guest Post

Top five awkward dating moments, misunderstandings, or mishaps

by Lucy Ivison and Tom Ellen

1Lucy

This isn’t really a dating story involving me. Well, it does involve me, but I don’t have a starring role. I don’t think English people go on dates that much, really. I think we are new to the dating thing, which we have only adopted in a halfhearted manner since rom-coms arrived at the cinema. Anyway . . . I wanted to get off with a boy at a party once when I was nineteen. That is the British way of dating. When I got there, although I used my best tactics like dancing in sexy manner to Wham! on the patio, he didn’t seem very fussed and went to another party. Taking it in my stride, I had a few drinks and carried on dancing to Wham! But then I got tired . . . so I wandered off and found a bedroom and fell asleep. I woke up to my best friend, Calypso*, having sex with the boy she had a crush on and had gone to the party hoping to get with. She hadn’t realised I was there because I had burrowed myself into the duvet like a hibernating badger. I was too polite to move. It was awkward. (*Calypso is not her real name.)

2Tom

I once asked a girl out in a bar, only to discover that her first name was the same as my surname (Ellen). I was slightly thrown by this at the time, but I was so pleased that she’d given me her number that I didn’t mention it. Then, by about the third date, I thought I had to finally break the news to her that if we ever got married her name would be Ellen Ellen. She found it quite funny, but when we eventually broke up a couple of months later, she did say, “Well, we were never going to get married, were we?” So I’ll always wonder what would have happened if I had a slightly less feminine last name. . . . Interesting side note: I also briefly dated a girl called Selin not long after this incident, so that was another relationship doomed to failure by my ridiculous surname.

3Lucy

Tom and I broke up the summer of my second year at university. I had only really ever been out with Tom. Anyway, my friend set me up on a date with someone who was generally considered to be a hottie. We went to see the first Pirates of the Caribbean film—so far, so first date-y. A random thing you also need to know is that it was this super, super hot summer. I am a self-respecting British woman, so obviously never leave the house without seventeen cardigans, but this one time because it was so hot I went out wearing only my carefully selected, brand-new lemon yellow Topshop sundress. At the end of the movie I deliberately raced ahead of everyone else to get to the loo. And then caught a glimpse of myself in the mirror and realised I had my period ALL OVER the back of my yellow lemon special. Like I had been shot in the back. I phoned my friend who was on holiday in Majorca, who said quite rationally that she couldn’t really do anything to help, as she was on holiday in Majorca. And then I had to do a period walk of shame back out of the loo and to the boy. We did not go for dinner as planned.

4Tom

I went into a pub a while back, and spotted a guy I used to go to school with. He was at a table with a girl, and from their slightly awkward body language it was clear they were on a first date. I went over to say hello, and the guy said, “Hi, Tom, this is Sarah. Sarah, this is Tom.” And the girl said: “It’s Katie.” There followed an extremely awkward silence, and I quickly made my excuses and left them to what remained of their intensely uncomfortable evening. They left pretty soon afterward, and I don’t imagine they’ve seen each other since. . . .

5Lucy

I once snuck into a boy’s house at one in the morning. His parents obviously had no idea I was there. Which was all well and good until I suddenly said, “I feel a bit unwell,” and tiptoed across the hall as quietly as possible before locking the bathroom door and proceeding to be extremely loudly and violently sick. For ages. And ages. Until his mother knocked on the door and said, “Marmaduke*, are you okay?” And I had to open the door and reveal it was not her son but a totally random girl puking all over her house. She had to hold my hair and call my parents. (*Marmaduke is not his real name.)


About the Authors

Joint Author Photo

TOM ELLEN AND LUCY IVISION met at the end of high school and quickly became sweethearts. Though they broke up in college, they remain best friends. Lucy runs the online teen magazine Whatever After and teaches in girls’ schools across London, specializing in building confidence and creativity. Tom is a journalist and has written for Time Out, Vice, ESPN, Glamour, and many other publications. They cowrote A Totally Awkward Love Story, which was partially inspired by their own high school relationship. This is their first novel. Follow Lucy on Twitter at @lucyivison.

LUCY’S TWITTER | FACEBOOK | LUCY’S GOODREADS | TOM’S GOODREADS


The Giveaway

Courtesy of the publisher…

  • ONE (1) winner will receive a copy of A TOTALLY AWKWARD LOVE STORY

***Giveaway is US only. Prizing will be sent by the publisher.***

Enter in the Rafflecopter below…

a Rafflecopter giveaway


The Tour Schedule

Week One

Week Two

Week Three

Week Four

Share
Previous Post Next Post

You may also like