SOUND Blog Tour: Review + Giveaway


I am super excited to be today’s RELEASE DAY stop on the SOUND Blog Tour hosted by Rockstar Book Tours. Happy book birthday to SOUND and Alexandra Duncan!

SOUND is the first book I’ve read by Author Alexandra Duncan and I loved it – it was epic, it touched on a number of issues that made me think, its characters were diverse, its worlds were interesting. If you’d like to know what else I thought, my review follows a bit further down below.

If you’d like to know more about SOUND, its description follows, along with places you can find it online. And if you’d like the chance to win some fab prizes including a copy of each of the books in this series, scroll down to the Rafflecopter to enter the giveaway.



Add to Goodreads

Title & Series: SOUND (Salvage #2)
Author: Alexandra Duncan
Release date: September 22, 2015
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Pages: 496
Formats: Hardcover, eBook


SOUND is the stand-alone companion to Alexandra Duncan’s acclaimed novel Salvage, a debut that internationally bestselling author Stephanie Perkins called “kick-ass, brilliant, feminist science fiction.” For fans of Beth Revis, Firefly, and Battlestar Galactica.

As a child, Ava’s adopted sister Miyole watched her mother take to the stars, piloting her own ship from Earth to space making deliveries. Now a teen herself, Miyole is finally living her dream as a research assistant on her very first space voyage. If she plays her cards right, she could even be given permission to conduct her own research and experiments in her own habitat lab on the flight home. But when her ship saves a rover that has been viciously attacked by looters and kidnappers, Miyole—along with a rescued rover girl named Cassia—embarks on a mission to rescue Cassia’s abducted brother, and that changes the course of Miyole’s life forever.


NOTE: This review is based on an ARC received from the tour host in exchange for my honest thoughts about the book.

The Review

SOUND is one of those epic reads that makes you feel like you’ve lived a lifetime with its characters. It takes you on a journey through space in an attempt to find and save someone being sold into slavery. It reveals a universe that is vast and cruel and fascinating and diverse and in need of heroes. It introduces a main character who has been deeply affected by her past and who is only just learning how to become a fighter. It gives you many things to think about while reading and beyond the read.

It is action-filled, moving, thought-provoking. The science is interesting. The worlds are intriguing. Miyole is someone you’ll sympathize with and root for, even if you won’t always agree with her choices. The ending comes together nicely, though it will leave you hoping for another story in the series so that you can continue to explore the worlds.

Miyole Guiteau has never recovered from the loss of her mother. She has blocked her memories of her past because they are too painful. She refuses to allow herself to grieve. She refuses to allow herself to get too close to anyone for fear of losing them.

She studied. She worked hard. She did whatever was necessary to get an assignment aboard the U.S.S. Ranganathan, a Deep Sound research and development vessel. She was eager to have a project that would keep her focused and busy so she wouldn’t have to think about all she’d lost.

But when a ship is attacked and one of its pilots is taken and no one aboard the Ranganathan is willing to do whatever is necessary to save them and return them to their family, she is forced to choose between the life she’s worked so hard for and one that will allow to her to live with herself.

Author Alexandra Duncan gives you a story with many layers. On its surface it is a rescue mission conducted by a desperate family member and an ill-prepared and ill-equipped girl who is trying to do the right thing and make up for past mistakes. But digging deeper you’ll discover a girl who is just beginning to find her voice, learn who she is, and understand her worth. You’ll find a world that has long been willing to turn a blind eye to some of the atrocities happening to its citizens. You’ll read a story about love and sacrifice, about actions and consequences, about human decency, about going after what you want, about fighting for what you believe is right.

SOUND is a gripping and thrilling and breathtaking read that is guaranteed to make you think. It gives you a main character whose outcome you will become invested in. And it transports you to a richly imagined world that you won’t want to leave.

Readers who enjoy their science fiction with a focus on the characters, a bit more diversity, a bit more substance, a bit less romance, a touch of humor, and plenty of action, adventure and danger are sure to fall in love with SOUND.

The Rating


About Alexandra Duncan

Alexandra Duncan-photobyKristiHedberg

Alexandra Duncan is a writer and librarian. Her first novel, Salvage, was published April 1, 2014, by Greenwillow Books. Her short fiction has appeared in several Year’s Best Science Fiction & Fantasy anthologies and The Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction. She loves anything that gets her hands dirty – pie-baking, leatherworking, gardening, drawing, and rolling sushi. She lives with her husband and two monstrous, furry cats in the mountains of Western North Carolina.

You can visit her online at


Other Books in the Series

Salvage Cover

Add to Goodreads

Title & Series: SALVAGE (Salvage #1)
Author: Alexandra Duncan
Release date: April 1, 2014
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Pages: 528
Formats: Hardcover, paperback, audio, eBook


Ava, a teenage girl living aboard the male-dominated, conservative deep space merchant ship Parastrata, faces betrayal, banishment, and death. Taking her fate into her own hands, she flees to the Gyre, a floating continent of garbage and scrap in the Pacific Ocean.


The Giveaway

There is a tour-wide giveaway for…

  • ONE (1) winner will receive a signed hardback copy of SOUND, a signed paperback copy of SALVAGE, and THIS electronic butterfly in a jar – US ONLY

Enter in the Rafflecopter below…

a Rafflecopter giveaway

The Tour Schedule

Week One

Week Two


Previous Post Next Post

You may also like