Follow:

Review: JUBILEE MANOR

JubileeManor

Add to Goodreads

Title & Series: JUBILEE MANOR (Landry Park #2)
Author: Bethany Hagen
Release date: August 11, 2015
Publisher: Dial Books
Pages: 400
Formats: Hardcover, eBook

Description…

The thrilling conclusion to Landry Park is full of love, betrayal, and murder–perfect for fans of DivergentThe Selection, and Pride and Prejudic

In Landry Park, Madeline turned her back on her elite family, friends, and estate to help the Rootless. Now, in Jubilee Manor, she struggles to bring the Gentry and the Rootless together. But when Gentry heirs—Madeline’s old friends—are murdered, even she begins to think a Rootless is behind it, putting her at odds with the boy she loves and the very people she is trying to lead. If she can’t figure out who is killing her friends and bring them to justice, a violent war will erupt and even more will die—and Madeline’s name, her estate, and all the bonds she’s forged won’t make any difference.

AMAZON | BARNES & NOBLE | iTUNES | THE BOOK DEPOSITORY | INDIEBOUND | GOODREADS

NOTE: This review is based on an ARC received in exchange for my honest thoughts about the book.


The Review

JUBILEE MANOR is an engaging and suspenseful and beautifully written conclusion to the series. This sequel took a deeper dive into the classist issues between the gentry and the Rootless. It presented a murder mystery that cast suspicion upon a few key players. It introduced conflict between Madeline and Captain David Dana. It offered up a few surprises to keep things interesting. And it wrapped everything up, answering the most important, if not all, of the lingering questions by the story’s end.

Madeline Landry hoped that with her uncle Jack running Landry Park, the gentry and the Rootless would be able to find a way to come together, get beyond their differences, alleviate the tensions between them, and discover a solution to the problems that have been plaguing them for so long. But Jack’s presence in the family home seems to have weakened his position with the Rootless, causing a more radical faction to form. And when it appears that a member of the Rootless is behind the murders of Madeline’s friends, the likelihood of a peaceful resolution becomes slim to non-existent.

With tempers rising all around, her father out of the picture, Jack keeping secrets, Captain David Dana refusing to see her side, dangerous alliances forming, and calls to action being made, Madeline is desperate to come up with a plan that will result in the fewest casualties and will ultimately be something that everyone can live with. And she’ll have to do it before the killer sets his sights on her.

Bethany Hagen penned a story that gives readers much to think about. It touches on issues of prejudice, elitism, retribution, justice, fairness, compassion, fear, anger, acceptance. Through her characters she shows just how much each of these elements can affect not only someone’s behavior and outlook, but their environment and even the larger picture. She shows how much good can come from being open to change and being non-judgmental and how much bad can come from being the opposite.

With Madeline Landry, the author created a character who developed into someone strong and compassionate and selfess, someone who looked past differences, someone who stood by their beliefs even when it was difficult to do so, but also who was willing to admit their mistakes when they were wrong. And it was Madeline who became a force for change.

While the story does put emphasis on the important issues it presents, it is not so heavy as to be weighed down by them. There are some exciting new developments, a few twists, a love story in jeopardy, a ticking clock, a killer on the loose, a people facing elimination, an Empire ready to pounce, and one girl fighting to save her friends, her family, her home, the Rootless.

JUBILEE MANOR is rich and gorgeous and captivating. The pacing and flow make it an easy read to get lost in. The mystery promises to be one that’s not so easy to solve. The romance is on the rocky side. And the lack of a guarantee that the outcome will be a happy one for all of the story’s most beloved characters makes it positively spellbinding.

The Rating

04


About Bethany Hagen

Bethany

(Photo by Ritu Nanos)

Bethany is a a former librarian living in the Kansas City area with her husband and two children.

Her debut novel Landry Park came out from Dial/Penguin in 2014, and the sequel, Jubilee Manor, will be out August 11, 2015. She is represented by Mollie Glick of Foundry Media.

WEBSITE | TWITTER | TUMBLR | PINTEREST | GOODREADS


Other Books in the Series

Landry-Park

Add to Goodreads

Title & Series: LANDRY PARK (Landry Park #1)
Author: Bethany Hagen
Release date: February 4, 2014
Publisher: Dial Books
Pages: 320
Formats: Hardcover, paperback, audio, eBook

Description…

Downton Abbey meets The Selection in this dystopian tale of love and betrayal

In a fragmented future United States ruled by the lavish gentry, seventeen-year-old Madeline Landry dreams of going to the university. Unfortunately, gentry decorum and her domineering father won’t allow that. Madeline must marry, like a good Landry woman, and run the family estate. But her world is turned upside down when she discovers the devastating consequences her lifestyle is having on those less fortunate. As Madeline begins to question everything she has ever learned, she finds herself increasingly drawn to handsome, beguiling David Dana. Soon, rumors of war and rebellion start to spread, and Madeline finds herself and David at the center of it all. Ultimately, she must make a choice between duty – her family and the estate she loves dearly – and desire.

AMAZON | BARNES & NOBLE | iTUNES | THE BOOK DEPOSITORY | INDIEBOUND | GOODREADS

Share
Previous Post Next Post

You may also like

Graphics

All content - except for guest posts and guest reviews - has been written by me and can not be copied or used without permission. All graphics and images used on my site – aside from book covers used for purposes of discussion – have either been given to me by authors, publishers or bloggers for guest posts, blog tours, interviews or promotion, have been sourced, have been designed by me or have been purchased for my exclusive use. Aside from images with a “grab code” beneath, no images can be used or displayed without permission.

FTC

All reviews on this website are unbiased and reviewers are in no way compensated for their reviews by the author, publisher, or any other agencies. While some reviews may be based on receipt of ARC copies of an authors work, a fair and impartial review is always given by the reviewer. Most of the reviews, however, are based upon books purchased after publication date.