Follow:

FIRST THERE WAS FOREVER Blog Tour: ‘Friendship vs. Love’ Guest Post + Giveaway

First-there-was-forever-BT

I am thrilled to welcome Juliana Romano to the blog today for my stop on the FIRST THERE WAS FOREVER Blog Tour. I absolutely loved this amazing book, which is filled with such wonderful imagery in addition to great characters, a captivating story, and all sorts of feels.

I’ll be sharing my review this weekend on the blog if you’d like to know what else I thought about the book. But for my stop on the tour today I have an awesome guest post by the author on Friendship vs. Love. I’d asked her which she’d choose, and as you’ll see from her post, it’s not an easy choice to make.

And if you’d like to know what choice Lima makes, you’ll have to read FIRST THERE WAS FOREVER. But in the meantime, there’s some information about the book just below. I’m also offering up a copy for giveaway. So if you don’t yet have one and would like the chance to win one, enter in the Rafflecopter a bit further down.

I’ve also included links to some of the other stops on the tour. So if you’d like to check out a few interviews and reviews, scroll down to the bottom of the post.


About FIRST THERE WAS FOREVER

FirstThereWasForever

Add to Goodreads

Title: FIRST THERE WAS FOREVER
Author: Juliana Romano
Release date: April 14, 2015
Publisher: Dial Books
Pages: 400
Formats: Hardcover, eBook

Description…

Perfect for fans of Jenny Han’s The Summer I Turned Pretty and Huntley Fitzpatrick’s My Life Next Door, Juliana Romano’s expressive debut is an absorbing and bittersweet story about first love, first loss, and the friends that carry us through it all.

Lima and Hailey have always been best friends: Lima shy and sensitive, Hailey funny and free-spirited. But Hailey abandons Lima to party with the popular kids and pursue Nate, her disinterested crush. As their friendship falters, Lima and Nate begin spending more time together. And before Lima knows what she’s feeling, she and Nate do something irreversible. Something that would hurt Hailey….if she knew it happened.

Lima thinks she’s saving her friendship by lying, but she’s only buying time. As the secrets stack up, Lima is forced to make a choice: between her best friend forever, and the boy who wasn’t meant to be hers.

AMAZON | BARNES & NOBLE | THE BOOK DEPOSITORY | INDIEBOUND | BOOKS-A-MILLION | GOODREADS


The Guest Post

Friendship vs. Love

by Juliana Romano

Friendship or love? What an impossible choice! It’s funny, because in some ways, my whole book, First There Was Forever, explores this question and still doesn’t come down clearly on one side or the other, which I guess just shows that I think this is a really interesting, challenging question.

In First There Was Forever, Lima has to make a choice between her best friend from childhood, Hailey, and the boy that they both like, Nate Reed. I think one of the biggest challenges for Lima, and something that leads to her bad behavior, is that she really, really, really doesn’t want to choose. And I really sympathize with her about that! She never stops loving Hailey. If she did, the choice would be simple. Also, Lima and Nate connect on a friendship level as well as a sexual level, and I think that makes the romance between them deeper. I think romantic love is more intense when there is an element of friendship in it!

Looking back at my own high school years, I thought what I wanted was love, but now I can see that my friendships were way more important than my experiences with guys. It was my friendships with other girls that persisted and that shaped me as a person. It was with my friends that I learned my emotional boundaries, how to really love someone, and how to express frustration or hurt! And also, we spent SO MUCH time talking about what sex would be like, that in some ways, I think it was also with my friends that I really learned about sex.

Also, I’m a romantic. I don’t believe we choose who we fall in love with or when. Desire points us towards people and we don’t always know why. If we could choose who to love, we would only choose people who were appropriate matches and really good for us and, and who were guaranteed to love us back the exact amount that we love them. And that’s not at all how it works in reality.

In Anna Karenina, Leo Tolstoy wrote, “if it is true that there are as many minds as there are heads, then there are as many kinds of love as there are hearts.” I think ultimately, that’s the truest thing I can say on this topic! There are a million kinds of love and a million kinds of friendship, and a million ways in which they overlap. True love is true love – whether it’s platonic or romantic doesn’t have to matter!


About Juliana Romano

JulianaRomano

Juliana was born in 1982 in New York, New York and grew up in Santa Monica, California. She received a B.A. from Wesleyan University in 2004 and an M.F.A. in Painting from U.C.L.A. in 2008. In 2009, Juliana began writing fiction in addition to painting. Her first Young Adult novel, “First There Was Forever” (Dial Books/Penguin) released on April 14 2015. She currently lives and works in Los Angeles.

WEBSITE | TWITTER | FACEBOOK | INSTAGRAM | GOODREADS


The Giveaway

I am offering up for giveaway…

A hardcover copy of FIRST THERE WAS FOREVER to ONE winner

  • Must be 13 or older to enter
  • There will be ONE winner
  • Giveaway is open to anywhere The Book Depository ships
  • Giveaway ends on May 10th at 11:59 p.m. Pacific
  • Winner will be chosen by Random via Rafflecopter
  • Winner will be announced in the Rafflecopter and contacted by email
  • Winner has 72 hours to respond with their details or another winner will be chosen

Enter in the Rafflecopter below…

a Rafflecopter giveaway


A Few Stops on the Tour

April 15th – The Irish Banana – Guest Post

April 16th – Once Upon a Twilight – Interview + Review

April 21st – Dreams, etc. – Review

April 27th – Rather Be Reading – Interview

April 29th – Effortlessly Reading – Interview

Share
Previous Post Next Post

You may also like