Follow:

RULES OF SEDUCTION Blog Tour: Review + Giveaway

Rules of Seduction Blog Tour

I am thrilled to be today’s release day stop on the RULES OF SEDUCTION Blog Tour. (Happy book birthday Jenna Mullins and RULES OF SEDUCTION!) I knew the instant I read the description that I’d love this book – from the setting, to the plot, to the characters, it sounded like a fun and entertaining one-sit-read with a main character whose scheming friend’s actions were sure to land her in hot water.

And while I do not plan on revealing any spoilers about what happened, I can say that it was just as captivating as I’d hoped it would be. Of course, if you’d like to know what else I thought, my review follows just below the information about RULES OF SEDUCTION.

I’ve also included the tour schedule with links to all the stops if you’d like to check out what other bloggers thought about the book and read a few interviews with the author.

This tour also includes a tour-wide giveaway for a copy of RULES OF SEDUCTION. Just enter in the Rafflecopter below for a chance to win.


About RULES OF SEDUCTION

Rules_of_Seduction_Cover

Add to Goodreads

Title: RULES OF SEDUCTION
Author: Jenna Mullins
Release date: April 21, 2015
Publisher: The Studio
Pages: 317
Formats: eBook

Description…

The first rule of seduction is: don’t fall in love.

Fresh out of college, Dani Young heads for the LA sun to chase her dream of becoming a screenwriter-director. So when her former BFF turned actress Elise offers Dani the opportunity to work on the hit teen show Vamp Camp, Dani can’t refuse, even if it comes at a price: Elise wants Dani to seduce her boyfriend, Vamp Camp superstar Tate Lawrence. Turns out Elise has some major trust issues, and needs Dani to test Tate’s faith. The only rule: don’t fall in love with him.

Sure, Dani doesn’t mind occasionally glimpsing Tate’s megawatt smile…or accidentally-on-purpose brushing up against his perfect torso…but she’s no fool. There’s no way she’d ever fall for a shallow celebrity and no way one would fall for her, a lanky movie nerd.

Amidst vampire-crazed fans, a conniving fellow intern, and a devilishly handsome showrunner, Dani feels like all the rules she used to know have disappeared, except for one:

Love doesn’t play by the rules.

Part The Devil Wears Prada, part How to Lose a Guy in Ten Days, this story of friendship and romance is sure to appeal to fans of Stephanie Perkins, Jennifer E. Smith and Anna Todd.

AMAZON | BARNES & NOBLE | iBOOKS | THE STUDIOGOODREADS

Note: This review is based on an eARC received from the publisher in exchange for my honest thoughts about the book..


The Review

RULES OF SEDUCTION is a super quick and thoroughly entertaining read. It’s one of those stories that you know from the outset will be fun and sweet and totally devourable and will involve plots and schemes that will backfire in ways that will either be hilarious or disastrous or a little bit of both. And with the backdrop of Los Angeles, a hot tv series featuring an even hotter leading male actor, a jealous girlfriend, a sexy guy who runs the show, a leading lady with a nightmare personality, a girl hoping to make a comeback after her dreams are crushed, and a set of rules for every occasion, it is a story that will be absolutely unputdownable.

When Danika Young left for Los Angeles she hadn’t even entertained the possibility that things could go wrong. She had the perfect job lined up – her dream job – and she was working on a screenplay she was sure would impress all the right people. So when things fell through, on her very first day, as shocked as she was, there was no way she could go home.

But if she hadn’t run into Elise, her childhood friend, she would have had to. Without any money or connections, there’s no way she could have stayed. And while working on a tv show wasn’t her dream, especially a hit series with a name like Vamp Camp, she was grateful for the opportunity. She just wished the favor she was asked to do in exchange didn’t involve attempting to seduce Elise’s boyfriend.

Jenna Mullins delivers a story that is more than just a guilty pleasure read. It is clever and well-written with an array of appealing characters. It challenges stereotypes. It touches on themes of trust, insecurity, self-worth and self-esteem, self-discovery, deception and betrayal. It adds humor. And it reveals a number of rules that are both on point and laugh out loud funny.

Told in the first person, the author gives readers more of a chance to connect with Dani. Her main character isn’t someone who is immediately, or always, likable. But she is someone who changes and grows as the story progresses. And she is surrounded by characters who are a mix of likable, charming, insecure, arrogant, driven, damaged, redeemable, making for an interesting and engaging read.

For those looking for a light and flirty one-sit read with a few deeper notes that lets them escape into the sometimes glamorous but always fascinating world of Hollywood celebrity, RULES OF SEDUCTION is a must. It promises to make you laugh, swoon, think, and maybe even fall in love.

The Rating

DarknessPurple05


About Jenna Mullins

Mullins_picIn fourth grade, Jenna put her classmates into a story about fire safety, and they laughed the entire time she read it aloud. Since then, she’s been writing with the sole purpose to entertain other people. Fire safety, however, fell to the wayside when she accidentally set her grandmother’s bathroom on fire when she was 12.

In 2010, she moved from Indiana to Los Angeles to intern at E!, and she is now a writer/editor/pop culture gatekeeper at E! Online. A Midwest girl who prefers Southern California weather, Jenna loves the Indianapolis Colts, saving Hyrule and training for her backup dream career: deciding what goes into the baskets on Food Network’s Chopped. She currently resides in LA with her nerdy, handsome boyfriend Kyle and their two fluffier-than-normal cats, Glenn and Zelda.

TWITTER


The Giveaway

The publisher is offering up a tour-wide giveaway for…

  • A copy of RULES OF SEDUCTION to ONE winner

Enter in the Rafflecopter below…

a Rafflecopter giveaway


The Tour Schedule

Week One

April 20th – A Dream Within A Dream – Review

April 21st – Fiktshun – Review

April 22nd – Reading Lark – Interview

April 23rd – Swoony Boys Podcast – Review

April 24th – Fic Fare – Review

Week Two

April 27th – Bookish – Review + Interview

April 28th – Katie’s Book Blog – Review

April 29th – Bookish Broads – Interview

April 30th – The Lovely Books Blog – Review

May 1st – Vox Libris – Spotlight

Week Three

May 4th – Stuck in YA Books – Review

May 5th – Musings of a Wallflower – Review

Share
Previous Post Next Post

You may also like