Follow:

My Reading Pile #183

MyReadingPileIt was an awesome week at the mailbox this week. A book I am so unbelievably excited to read showed up and a surprise book I’ve been hearing some amazing things about also showed up.

MRP 183

I received an ARC of ROOMS by Lauren Oliver courtesy of the publisher, Ecco, in anticipation of the tour I’ll be on this coming week. I plan on reading and reviewing it for my stop on the 19th and I have an amazing interview to accompany my post. I’m totally stoked and can’t wait to start reading.

I also received a surprise finished copy of A LITTLE SOMETHING DIFFERENT by Sandy Hall, courtesy of the publisher, Swoon Reads. I’ve been seeing this book everywhere and it sounds awesome and the cover is gorgeous and I can’t wait to meet all the characters. It looks to be a super quick read and I’m thinking I just might take it with me on my mini sailing vacay later this week.

And if you can believe it, I did not request a single eARC this past week. Nope, not one. I’m kind of surprised, but at the same time very happy to not add more to my never diminishing eARC collection on my Kindle.

But that doesn’t mean I don’t have a couple of books that I am dying to read this week. And so…

Here are the books I have in my reading pile this week.

{September 14, 2014 – September 20, 2014}


Made for You

Add to Goodreads

First up on the pile is MADE FOR YOU by Melissa Marr. I received an eARC in anticipation of its tour, and I can’t wait to read it. While I am only sharing an excerpt for my stop, and my pre-order will arrive on Tuesday, I cannot wait to dive in just a few days before its release.

I love Melissa Marr’s writing and I love YA contemporary and this book sounds so very, very awesome. I can’t wait to read this “twisted southern gothic tale,” meet Eva Tilling, and find out who is obsessed with her and why she awoke from an accident with the ability to foresee people’s deaths.

The description promises murder, romance and an enthralling and wild ride. And I cannot wait to be taken along this weekend.

The Description…

Bestselling author of the Wicked Lovely books Melissa Marr’s first contemporary YA novel is a twisted southern gothic tale of obsession, romance, and murder. A killer is obsessed with Eva Tilling. Can she stop him, or will he claim her?

When Eva Tilling wakes up in the hospital, she’s confused—who in her sleepy little North Carolina town could have hit her with their car? And why? But before she can consider the question, she finds that she’s awoken with a strange new skill: the ability to foresee people’s deaths when they touch her. While she is recovering from the hit-and-run, Nate, an old flame, reappears, and the two must traverse their rocky past as they figure out how to use Eva’s power to keep her friends—and themselves—alive. But while Eva and Nate grow closer, the killer grows increasingly frantic in his attempt to get to Eva.

For the first time, New York Times bestselling author Melissa Marr has applied her extraordinary talent to contemporary realism. Chilling twists, unrequited obsession, and high-stakes romance drive this Gothic, racy thriller—a story of small-town oppression and salvation. Melissa’s fans, and every YA reader, will find its wild ride enthralling.


Rooms

Add to Goodreads

Next up on the pile is ROOMS by Lauren Oliver. I received an ARC from the publisher this past week for the book’s tour and I cannot wait to dive in on Sunday or Monday. Lauren Oliver is an amazing writer and I cannot wait to see how she tackles her adult debut that promises to be “haunting.”

I may have already peeked at the answers the author gave to my interview questions, which makes me that much more excited to meet these characters, find out what happens with the ghosts that share the Walkers’ home, and what the “cataclysmic results” are when the spirit and human worlds collide.

I just know I’m going to love the writing, I’m already intrigued by the story, so I have a feeling this will be one of those reads I’m not going to want to put down. If I can’t get to it late Sunday night, I’m going to clear my schedule on Monday evening so I can devour it in one sitting.

The Description…

The New York Times bestselling author of Before I Fall and the Delirium trilogy makes her brilliant adult debut with this mesmerizing story in the tradition of The Lovely Bones, Her Fearful Symmetry, and The Ocean at the End of the Lane—a tale of family, ghosts, secrets, and mystery, in which the lives of the living and the dead intersect in shocking, surprising, and moving ways

Wealthy Richard Walker has just died, leaving behind his country house full of rooms packed with the detritus of a lifetime. His estranged family—bitter ex-wife Caroline, troubled teenage son Trenton, and unforgiving daughter Minna—have arrived for their inheritance.

But the Walkers are not alone. Prim Alice and the cynical Sandra, long dead former residents bound to the house, linger within its claustrophobic walls. Jostling for space, memory, and supremacy, they observe the family, trading barbs and reminiscences about their past lives. Though their voices cannot be heard, Alice and Sandra speak through the house itself—in the hiss of the radiator, a creak in the stairs, the dimming of a light bulb.

The living and dead are each haunted by painful truths that will soon surface with explosive force. When a new ghost appears, and Trenton begins to communicate with her, the spirit and human worlds collide—with cataclysmic results.

Elegantly constructed and brilliantly paced, Rooms is an enticing and imaginative ghost story and a searing family drama that is as haunting as it is resonant.


Wishful Thinking Reads

I really want to finish reading THE WITCHES OF EAST END by Melissa De La Cruz. I just binge watched the entire TV series and am all caught up and I really want to finally finish reading this first book and all currently released sequels. But as I have a ton of books sitting in my living room just begging to be read, I can’t go totally off-pile to read the series, as much as I desperately wish I could.


Those Left Behind

I am still reading INVISIBLE as I write this post. I will be finished by the time it goes “live” on the blog, but for now I’m not quite done reading. I plan on writing a review after my tour stop, but I will be posting it on Reading YA Rocks where I’ll be posting most of my YA reviews from now on.

But I did post my review for FALLING INTO PLACE and have written my review for GET EVEN which I’ll be posting over on RYAR on its release date, Tuesday.

And I did end up finishing and loving THE GIFTED DEAD and I hope to have a review written for it here on its release date, the 23rd.

I also managed to write and post my reviews for BLACK ICE by Becca Fitzpatrick and ISLA AND THE HAPPILY EVER AFTER by Stephanie Perkins over on RYAR. And I should have my review for BLIND by Rachel DeWoskin on that blog either today or Sunday.

Things were a lot less crazy this week at work, but I took the time to completely veg and binge watch The Witches of East End and catch up on Teen Wolf. So I didn’t get much reading done. (Yes, I’m glad I only added one book to the pile!)

But I’m back to adding two books to the pile and I hope to read more than that. We shall see.


NetGalley Pile Adds & Finds

I didn’t request a single eARC from anywhere or anyone this week. I’m very proud of myself. Though I really want to search through old MRP posts to request some of those books I wanted to request but didn’t.

Trying. To. Refrain.

Anyway… there are a few interesting-sounding books on NetGalley this week.

Here are this week’s finds…

THE FINE ART OF PRETENDING by Rachel Harris (Spencer Hill Contemporary, Sep 30 2014)

EVERY UGLY WORD by Aimee Salter (Alloy Entertainment, Jul 29 2014)

IMITATION by Heather Hildenbrand (Alloy Entertainment, Jul 29 2014)

SHADOW CREATURES (Lost Worlds #2) by Andrew Lane (Pan Macmillan, Sep 11 2014) **UK Reviewers Preferred**


I did not take the opportunity to blog a few hours each night this past week. While I did put some time into updating my features and review pages and writing a few reviews, I did not get ahead of things. I still have a ton of reading and a ton of post formatting to do for the upcoming tours I’m on.

But part of the reason for my slacker-like qualities was that both the tweaks to Reading YA Rocks and the final design elements were completed. So I couldn’t resist spending some time figuring things out over there.

It’s tough preparing to say goodbye to the blog that is Fiktshun. It’s a place I’ve been blogging at regularly for the past (almost) four years. It’s kind of crazy to even think about blogging somewhere new, especially with a viable blog here that I love. But a fresh start, something a bit less serious, with (hopefully) zero plagiarism incidents is something that I desperately need. And when the time comes to walk away for good, it might be just a little bit easier to say goodbye.

I haven’t decided yet whether or not to move My Reading Pile over to the other blog or just post a sort of “Book Haul” and list my current reads. But in the next couple of weeks I’ll decide… I hope.

Anyway… I hope you had as amazing a week at the mailbox as I did, that you read way more than I did, and that the books you read were awesome. And if you’d like to share what you’ve been reading and what you received, leave a comment or link so I can check it out.

Happy reading!

Divider

Do you create a reading pile?

If so, what’s in your reading pile this week?

Share
Previous Post Next Post

You may also like

Graphics

All content - except for guest posts and guest reviews - has been written by me and can not be copied or used without permission. All graphics and images used on my site – aside from book covers used for purposes of discussion – have either been given to me by authors, publishers or bloggers for guest posts, blog tours, interviews or promotion, have been sourced, have been designed by me or have been purchased for my exclusive use. Aside from images with a “grab code” beneath, no images can be used or displayed without permission.

FTC

All reviews on this website are unbiased and reviewers are in no way compensated for their reviews by the author, publisher, or any other agencies. While some reviews may be based on receipt of ARC copies of an authors work, a fair and impartial review is always given by the reviewer. Most of the reviews, however, are based upon books purchased after publication date.