Follow:

RESIST Blog Tour: Quinn Caffrey Character Interview + Giveaway

resist

I love this series by author Sarah Crossan and was so excited to be able to participate in the blog tour for RESIST. Of course that may have been because it gave me the opportunity to interview one of my favorite characters in this series, Quinn Caffrey, for my stop on the tour.

Quinn is awesome. Just read any one of his answers to my many questions and you’ll know why I think so.

And while I wanted to be able to ask Bea, Alina, Ronan and Silas a few questions, I think they would have been spoiler-y and I kind of went overboard with the number of questions I asked Quinn.

If you haven’t had the chance to meet Quinn you can find out a little bit about him by reading the descriptions for BREATHE and RESIST below before checking out the interview. But he does a fab job of introducing himself, if you just can’t wait.

This tour is only one week, ending on Friday, so be sure to visit all the stops on the tour to learn more about the author and this captivating series about a world where having enough air to breathe isn’t guaranteed.

And if you’d like the chance to win a set of the two books in this series, just follow the instructions in the Rafflecopter at the end of this post.

But for now I am super excited to be able to share with you what Quinn revealed during the interrogation interview. I didn’t think I could adore him more until I heard what he had to say about Bea, about Alina and even about Ronan.

line2

The Interview

Q&A with Quinn Caffrey

Q.

For those who haven’t yet had the chance to meet you, can you tell us a little bit about yourself?

A.

Hey, my name’s Quinn. I was a Premium in the pod, which means I belonged to a privileged class, before I left it all behind to join up with the Resistance. I’ve changed a lot recently – for the better I think.

Q.

From the moment you and Bea left home and headed into the Outlands things changed drastically for you. Do you have any regrets? Is there anything you would have done differently?

A

It’s better to know the truth about things than live a lie, which is what I’d been doing my whole life. Anyway, how could I regret standing by my friends and helping people who were in need? I lost my family, but I’m not sure how much they really cared about me in the first place.

Q.

If you hadn’t left home do you think things would have changed between you and Bea? How did you feel about her before? And how do you feel about her now?

A.

I’ve always loved Bea – she’s my best friend and the only person who understands me. But I think I was a kid before I left the pod, and I couldn’t really see her probably. She’s the most beautiful person I know, inside and out; it just took a disaster for me to realize it.

Q.

If you had to describe Bea in 15 words or less, how would you describe her?

A.

Bea is kindness and strength. She’s my hero.

Q.

If you could pick one moment with Bea that is your favorite what would that be?

A.

The first time Bea and I kissed was magical. I didn’t even know that’s what was going to happen until it happened and I knew it felt right. Nothing I’d done had ever felt so honest.

Q.

After everything that happened in the pod, at The Grove or afterward, was there ever a time when you lost hope? What – or who – kept you going when the chance for survival was so small?

A.

I never lost hope because hope is the only thing I had and I had to hang on to it. When Bea’s parents were killed I wondered if she would give up, but she didn’t. I have no reason to feel downhearted when she’s lost one hundred percent more than me.

Q.

If you had to choose someone (other than yourself of Bea) that you trusted with your life (and hers) who would it be and why?

A.

I trust Alina and Silas. They are the kind of people who would take a bullet for you. They’ve been fighting this war since the beginning, so they’re totally committed to justice. I know they both seem hard-nosed, but underneath their tough shells are hearts of gold.

Q.

If you didn’t say Ronan in answer to that last question, what do you think about Ronan? Does it bother you that he and Bea spend so much time together?

A.

I mean he’s smart and strong and a really nice guy, so why shouldn’t I be jealous? When they hang out together, I sometimes wonder, but then I tell myself I know Bea – she just isn’t that kind of person – if she didn’t want me, she’d tell me. And Ronan’s my friend now. I don’t think it’s my place to stand in the way of their friendship – they shared a lot.

Q.

What would you say is the most heroic thing you’ve done?

A.

I stood up to Cain Knavery the Pod Minister. It was terrifying and it caused a revolt, so I guess that’s kind of heroic. But it’s nothing compared to what Alina’s done. She’s the bravest person I’ve known, and I will always love her for it.

Q.

For those who have yet to embark upon this journey with you, Bea, Alina, Ronan and the others – some we’ve met before, some we have still to meet – what can we expect?

A.

Expect a long, hard road and some surprising revelations. Expect tears. We lose a lot of people along the way. People we all love. But that’s the way with a war, I guess.

Dots_Divider

About Resist

Resist

add

Description…

The sequel—and conclusion—to Sarah Crossan’s Breathe. Three teen outlaws must survive on their own in a world without air, exiled outside the glass dome that protects what’s left of human civilization. Gripping action, provocative ideas, and shocking revelations in a dystopian novel that fans of Patrick Ness and Veronica Roth will devour.

Bea, Alina, and Quinn are on the run. They started a rebellion and were thrown out of the pod, the only place where there’s enough oxygen to breathe. Bea has lost her family. Alina has lost her home. And Quinn has lost his privileged life. Can they survive in the perilous Outlands? Can they finish the revolution they began? Especially when a young operative from the pod’s Special Forces is sent after them. Their only chance is to stand together, even when terrible circumstances force them apart. When the future of human society is in danger, these four teens must decide where their allegiances lie.

Sarah Crossan has created a dangerous, and shattered society in this wrenching, thought-provoking, and unforgettable post-apocalyptic novel.

Series: Breathe #2
Publication Date: October 8, 2013
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Pages: 368
Formats: Hardcover, eBook

AMAZON | BARNES & NOBLE | THE BOOK DEPOSITORY | GOODREADS

Dots_Divider

About Breathe

Breathe

add

Description…

The world has no air. If you want to survive, you pay to breathe. But what if you can’t? And what if you think everything could be different?

Three teens will leave everything they know behind in Sarah Crossan’s gripping and original dystopian teen novel of danger, longing, and glimmering hope that will appeal to fans of Patrick Ness and Veronica Roth.

Ever since the Switch, when the oxygen levels plummeted and most of humanity died, the survivors have been protected in glass domes full of manufactured air. Protected . . . or trapped? Or controlled? Alina’s a revolutionary who believes we can save the environment. Quinn’s a Premium who’s never had to worry about having enough air. His best friend, Bea, is an Auxiliary who’s never worried about anything but having enough air. When the three cross paths, they will change everything.

Sarah Crossan’s thrilling and provocative novel is about passion, about yearning for something better, and about breaking free for the very first time.

Series: Breathe #1
Publication Date: October 2, 2012
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Pages: 384
Formats: Hardcover, paperback, eBook

AMAZON | BARNES & NOBLE | THE BOOK DEPOSITORY | GOODREADS

Or_Dots_Divider

Dots_Divider

About Sarah Crossan

sarah

Sarah Crossan is Irish. She graduated with a degree in Philosophy and Literature before training as an English and Drama teacher at Cambridge University and worked to promote creative writing in schools before leaving teaching to write full time.

She completed her Masters in Creative Writing at the University of Warwick in 2003 and in 2010 received an Edward Albee Fellowship for writing.

The Weight of Water, published by Bloomsbury in January 2012, was her first novel. Breathe was published by Greenwillow and Bloomsbury in October 2012 and Resist in October 2013.

WEBSITE | BLOG | TWITTER | FACEBOOK | GOODREADS

Dots_Divider

The Tour Schedule

Nov. 11th – Fiction Freak – Guest Post

Nov. 12th – Mundie Moms – Spotlight

Nov. 13th – Two Chicks on Books – Dream Cast Guest Post

Nov. 14th – Fiktshun – Character Interview

Nov. 15th – Fantasy Book Addict – Interview

Dots_Divider

The Giveaway

This tour includes an awesome giveaway donated by the publisher for a set of BREATHE and RESIST to TWO Winners – US only.

Enter in the Rafflecopter…

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Share
Previous Post Next Post

You may also like

Graphics

All content - except for guest posts and guest reviews - has been written by me and can not be copied or used without permission. All graphics and images used on my site – aside from book covers used for purposes of discussion – have either been given to me by authors, publishers or bloggers for guest posts, blog tours, interviews or promotion, have been sourced, have been designed by me or have been purchased for my exclusive use. Aside from images with a “grab code” beneath, no images can be used or displayed without permission.

FTC

All reviews on this website are unbiased and reviewers are in no way compensated for their reviews by the author, publisher, or any other agencies. While some reviews may be based on receipt of ARC copies of an authors work, a fair and impartial review is always given by the reviewer. Most of the reviews, however, are based upon books purchased after publication date.