Follow:

The Brokenhearted Blog Tour: Amelia Kahaney Guest Post + Giveaway

TBHBlogTour
I am super excited to be kicking off the tour for THE BROKENHEARTED by Amelia Kahaney, which releases tomorrow, October 8th from HarperTeen. I’ve been anxiously awaiting its release since I first saw its dark and intriguing cover and read its even more fascinating description.

The writing is beautiful and captivating and haunting and the story is dark and incredibly addictive. It’s a book that you just won’t want to put down. If you don’t believe me, just check out this nice long exclusive excerpt from Entertainment Weekly and see for yourself. Fortunately the wait for its release won’t be very long.

But in the meantime, if you’d like to know a little bit more about the author, there’s some information below, along with a few places you can find her online. And if you’d like to know what five books – although one of them is a series – Author Amelia Kahaney loved, just check out the guest post I have for my stop on the tour.

And because I think this book is awesome and I am super thrilled that there will be an action-packed sequel, I am offering up a copy for giveaway. So if you’d like a chance to win, just check out the details and enter in the Rafflecopter below.

There are four other stops on the Mundie Girls Tour for THE BROKENHEARTED, a few of which will be sharing excerpts from the book. So if you don’t get the chance to grab a copy on release date be sure to head over to the other stops on tour for a longer look inside this fantastic book.

But before all that, here’s some information about the book on tour.

About the Book

The Brokenhearted

add

Description…

A teenage girl is transformed into a reluctant superhero and must balance her old life with the dark secret of who she has become.

Prima ballerina Anthem Fleet is closely guarded by her parents in their penthouse apartment. But when she meets the handsome Gavin at a party on the wrong side of town, she is immediately drawn into his dangerous world. Then, in a tragic accident, Anthem falls to her death. She awakes in an underground lab, with a bionic heart ticking in her chest. As she navigates her new life, she uncovers the sinister truth behind those she trusted the most, and the chilling secret of her family lineage…and her duty to uphold it.

The Dark Knight meets Cinder in this gripping and cinematic story of heartbreak and revenge. From Alloy Entertainment, this inventive new superhero story is sure to captivate any reader.

Publisher: HarperTeen
Publication Date: October 8, 2013
Pages: 352
Formats: Hardcover, Audio, eBook

AMAZON | BARNES & NOBLE | INDIEBOUND | GOODREADS | HARPERTEEN

line3

Guest Post
Five Young Adult Books I Loved 

by Amelia Kahaney

 

The Basic EightThe Basic Eight by Daniel Handler

The Basic Eight is a psychological thriller in the vein of Fight Club and Gone Girl, only set in high school and full of even more black comedy. Written by Daniel Handler, a.k.a. Lemony Snicket, it’s one of the best portayals of dark, obsessive high school friendships I’ve ever had the pleasure of devouring. My friends and I passed this book around when we were in our early 20’s, and we all found it hilarious and deeply poignant. I think I might have to go reread it right now, just to sink back into Handler’s perfectly sinister clique and relive the shocking plot twists all over again.

***

Not a Drop to DrinkNot a Drop to Drink by Mindy McGinnis

I read this book in two feverish days, rapt and anxious about how the narrator, a hard-bitten girl named Lynn, would defend her meager water supply in a world where there’s not enough of the stuff to go around. The stakes here are impossibly high throughout, and everything feels so real because of how well McGinnis knows the techniques of wilderness survival. A gorgeous and all-too-plausible dystopia.

***

Here Where the Sunbeams are GreenHere Where the Sunbeams are Green by Helen Phillips

This middle-grade adventure story is about so many things: endangered birds, a creepy fountain of youth, first kisses, volcanoes, magic, sleuthing. But it’s the sometimes-strained relationship between sisters Roo and Mad that made this one of my favorite books of last year. Roo and Mad each have their own path to hack through the jungle as they put together clues about their missing father and a scary eco-resort called La Lava, but in the end, we know they couldn’t possibly solve the mystery alone.

***

BunheadsBunheads by Sophie Flack

For anyone who’s into the dark underbelly of professional ballet, Bunheads goes way beyond The Nutcracker and tutus. Sophie Flack was once a professional ballet dancer, so she nails all the juicy details—the starvation, exhaustion, passion, and broken bones—of her former life. This is the book I go back to when I need to re-immerse myself in the raw hunger of young women willing to do anything to survive in the cutthroat microcosm of a ballet company.

***

PureThe Pure series by Julianna Baggott

I’m reading this action-packed series right now, and I’m so glad I finally picked it up. Baggott’s poetry background shows on every page—I’ve never seen such grotesquely beautiful imagery in a story told with so much heart. In Pure, detonations have altered people’s cellular makeup and fused them with objects, the earth, even each other. There’s a boy with birds stuck to his back, babies fused forever to their mothers’ hips, a man who joins the underside of a car engine. This book will leave you shaken and terrified and desperately wanting to know how the main characters, Pressia and Partridge, will survive and maybe even fix their post-nuclear world.

Fuse     Burn

line3

About the Author

AmeliaAuthorPhoto

Amelia Kahaney grew up an easily sunburnt child in San Diego, CA and Hilo, HI. At age 12, self-exiled from surf camp due to lack of coordination, Amelia sought refuge in her local library and spent the rest of her summer filling up yellow legal pads with her first attempts at fiction. After graduating from UC Santa Cruz with a degree in English, she lived in Portland, Oregon and Quetzaltenango, Guatemala before landing in New York City with a giant suitcase and high hopes.

Nine apartments and a dozen jobs later, she began to study fiction writing at Brooklyn College. Her short stories have appeared in Best American Nonrequired Reading, One Story, Crazyhorse, and other literary magazines. She wrote most of The Brokenhearted in a coffee shop that has since gone out of business, and is currently testing out new locations in which to dream up superpowers for book two.

She is still a fan of libraries, and is also partial to bicycles, art, cars, fire, hermit crabs, voices harmonizing, flash mobs, hot springs, and voracious readers of all ages. She lives in Brooklyn, New York, with her husband and son.

TWITTERFACEBOOK | WEBSITE | TUMBLR | HARPERTEEN

line3

The Giveaway

What’s Up for Grabs?

A hardcover copy of THE BROKENHEARTED – to ONE WINNER

The Deets

  • Must be 13 or older to enter
  • There will be ONE winner
  • Giveaway is International to wherever The Book Depository ships
  • Book will be ordered from either Amazon or The Book Depository
  • Giveaway ends on October 13 at 11:59 p.m. Pacific
  • Winner will be chosen by Random via Rafflecopter
  • Winner will be announced in the Rafflecopter and contacted by email
  • Winner has 48 hours to respond

Enter in the Rafflecopter below…

a Rafflecopter giveaway

The Tour Schedule

October 7th – Fiktshun – Guest Post

October 8th – Page Turners – Excerpt

October 9th – Two Chicks on Books – Interview

October 10th – Mundie Moms – Excerpt

October 11th – Fangirlish – Review

Brokenhearted BT

Share
Previous Post Next Post

You may also like