Follow:

My Reading Pile #131

I didn’t get any physical books in the mail this week and I wasn’t expecting any. But I stopped checking my mailbox on Wednesday, so it’s possible that there is a surprise book waiting for me. But I highly doubt it.

Which is totally fine by me because I was given the chance to read a book that I’ve been dying to read for the longest time in electronic form.

[Credit for mailbox sharing goes to The Story Siren]

I received an eARC of ENDLESS NIGHT (The Arcana Chronicles #2) by Kresley Cole thanks to the author. While a physical copy of the book was an option, for me waiting wasn’t.

I ended up diving into it at the end of my workday the day I received it and finishing it up after work the next day. And while I would have stayed up all night reading, I didn’t want to reach the end quite so quickly.

And even though I already read it, by shoving the book off last week’s pile in order to do so, I will be re-reading it and POISON PRINCESS this weekend once I write my review. Because I’m anxious to get back to the world and the characters and am wondering if maybe just maybe there was something I missed in my haste to find out how it all would end. I hope to have my answer on Sunday.

And I was super excited to also have received approval for an eARC of Jeri Smith Ready’s THIS SIDE OF SALVATION thanks to Simon Pulse via Edelweiss. This story sounds quite a bit different but incredibly intriguing and I cannot wait to check it out. I love the author’s writing and I’m curious to see just how heartbreaking this story of hers will be.

I also received an eARC of PALACE OF SPIES by Sarah Zettel thanks to a newsletter offering from NetGalley and the book’s publisher HMH Books for Young Readers. It sounded like a lot of fun and I just had to click to download. Now I just have to transfer it to my nook so I can check it out.

And while ENDLESS KNIGHT is technically going to be on the pile once again this weekend, along with POISON PRINCESS, I thought I’d add two other books to the pile that I really want to read.

And they are….

Here are the books I have in my reading pile this week.
(September 15, 2013 – September 21, 2013)

elements26

Find Me

addtogoodreads

First up on the pile is FIND ME by Romily Bernard. I received an eARC for review courtesy of the publisher, HarperTeen, via Edelweiss, and I’ve been just dying to get this on the pile since the moment it downloaded to my Kindle.

I’ve already spotlighted FIND ME as my book to watch for the week of September 24th, so I don’t want to ramble on again with all the things I’m excited about discovering in this much anticipated title.

But I can’t wait to meet Tessa and see if this book is every bit the thriller I hope it will be. I can’t wait to get lost in this world of hackers, murderers and mystery. And I can’t wait to find out how Tessa takes down a killer.

Just as soon as I finish my re-reads I will be diving right into FIND ME and I hope to be able to finish this book by Tuesday.

The Description…

“Find Me.”

These are the words written on Tessa Waye’s diary. The diary that ends up with Wick Tate. But Tessa’s just been found . . . dead.

Wick has the right computer-hacking skills for the job, but little interest in this perverse game of hide-and-seek. Until her sister Lily is the next target.

Then Griff, trailer-park boy next door and fellow hacker, shows up, intent on helping Wick. Is a happy ending possible with the threat of Wick’s deadbeat dad returning, the detective hunting him sniffing around Wick instead, and a killer taunting her at every step?

Foster child. Daughter of a felon. Loner hacker girl. Wick has a bad attitude and sarcasm to spare.

But she’s going to find this killer no matter what.

Because it just got personal.

elements26

The Brokenhearted

addtogoodreads

Next up on the pile is THE BROKENHEARTED by Amelia Kahaney. I received an eARC for review courtesy of its awesome publisher, HarperTeen, via Edelweiss. And as I will be on this book’s tour in a few weeks I wanted to get a peek at this awesome-sounding book before then.

THE BROKENHEARTED was one of the books I discovered during the Epic Reads Tea Time party a couple of months ago and I just had to grab a copy because it sounded amazing. This book sounds dark, the main character meets an untimely demise, the description mentions a “sinister truth” and a “chilling secret.” So of course this story became one I just had to read.

I can’t wait to meet Anthem Fleet later this week and find out just how she plans on exacting her revenge. The description also promises heartbreak and a story that will appeal to fans of Cinder and “The Dark Knight.” So I can’t imagine any reason why I won’t fall in love.

And as I may have taken a quick peek just the other day, I’m pretty certain that this is one book that won’t get left behind.

The Description…

A teenage girl is transformed into a reluctant superhero and must balance her old life with the dark secret of who she has become.

Prima ballerina Anthem Fleet is closely guarded by her parents in their penthouse apartment. But when she meets the handsome Gavin at a party on the wrong side of town, she is immediately drawn into his dangerous world. Then, in a tragic accident, Anthem falls to her death. She awakes in an underground lab, with a bionic heart ticking in her chest. As she navigates her new life, she uncovers the sinister truth behind those she trusted the most, and the chilling secret of her family lineage…and her duty to uphold it.

The Dark Knight meets Cinder in this gripping and cinematic story of heartbreak and revenge. From Alloy Entertainment, this inventive new superhero story is sure to captivate any reader.

elements26

Wishful-Thinking-Reads

THE DREAM THIEVES by Maggie Stiefvater is my wishful thinking read this week. I know I must have listed it in the past but as I still haven’t had the chance to read it and release day is just around the corner I’m wishing even harder that I’ll get the opportunity.

But as I want to re-read the first book in the series before I dive into this sequel, reading it this week may be just a wish. But if I pick up the pace just a little bit, maybe, just maybe, reading it will become a reality instead.

elements26

Those_Left_Behind

I did not end up finishing THE WAKING DARK last week. But I really would love to finish it some time later this week.

I finished reading RELATIVITY last weekend and started reading THE WAKING DARK but then I received ENDLESS KNIGHT and I just couldn’t resist the urge to read it instantly.

And while I tried to pick THE WAKING DARK back up after finishing that mind-blowing second book in The Arcana Chronicles, I needed to find something a little bit different. So I picked up and devoured THE BURNING SKY which I just finished on Friday night and which is a book I love, love, love.

As I am on the tours for both RELATIVITY and THE BURNING SKY on Monday and Tuesday I hope to be able to review both books before my tour stops, but we shall see. I’m still trying to sort out my thoughts and feelings about ENDLESS KNIGHT and if I can manage to do that I’ll try my hand at writing reviews for each of these titles.

And I’d love to be able to write reviews for ALL OUR YESTERDAYS, WILD CARDS and THROUGH THE ZOMBIE GLASS, though doing so seems a tad ambitious.

Since I plan on re-reading POISON PRINCESS and ENDLESS KNIGHT this weekend I’m not sure how much time I’ll have. Fingers, as usual, are crossed.

elements26

Netgalley_Pile_Adds
I didn’t take a peek at NetGalley until the moment I had to create this post. And when I saw that ALIENATED was available for request I just couldn’t resist. I’m not at all certain I will be approved but I had to try.

Alienated

ALIENATED by Melissa Landers (Disney Book Group, Feb 4 2014)

***

And while I may have clicked to request a title from Edelweiss this week, I have been fairly good at keeping my eARC requests at a minimum. Though I’m really interested in requesting a couple of the titles that I discovered on NetGalley below.

BEING SLOANE JACOBS by Lauren Morrill (Random House Children’s, Jan 7 2014)

MAN MADE BOY by Jon Skovron (Penguin Young Readers Group, Oct 3, 2013)

ALLURE (The Hoodoo Apprentice #2) by Lea Nolan (Entangled Publishing, Oct 1 2013)

MADE OF STARS by Kelley York (Entangled Publishing, Oct 1 2013)

SIDELINED by Kendra C. Highley (Entanged Publishing, Sep 23 2013)

AFTER EDEN by Helen Douglas (Bloomsbury USA Children’s Books, Nov 5 2013)

THE IRON BELLS by Jeanette Battista (Foreword Literary, Jun 10 2013)

ENDLESS by Amanda Gray (Month9Books, Oct 8 2013)

elements26

It was a pretty successful reading week this week. I didn’t anticipate having as much time as I did to read the three books I managed to complete. So that makes me happy. I’m also thrilled that I did read THE BURNING SKY because I can never tell when I’ll be in the mood to read epic fantasy/high fantasy. I almost always love the story once I actually get past the first page, but sometimes it’s hard for me to do that. And I have no idea why that is.

I am hopeful that this week is the week that I’ll be able to get back to writing reviews. Ever since reading ENDLESS KNIGHT I’ve been in the mood to try and write a review for it. But not having a moment for quiet time this past week I’ve had to sit with my thoughts, which I think is a good thing because they’re all over the place. Hopefully I’ll be able to get ahead on my posts for early in the week so that I can get that review and a few others written, but we shall see if that happens before my mood shifts.

Anyway… as my goal is to get in an hour or two of reading before I crash for the night I will keep this sign-off brief. But, as always, I wish you the happiest of reading weeks ahead. And if you’d like to share what you’ve read, what you plan on reading and what you’ve received, I’d love to know!

elements28

MRP_so

Share
Previous Post Next Post

You may also like