Book Watch: Level 2


Level 2LEVEL 2 by Lenore Appelhans will be released in the U.S. on January 15, 2013 in hardcover, audio and eBook formats. It is currently available to pre-order online in all formats at AMAZON and BARNES & NOBLE.

Published by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, the print edition is 288 pages.

LEVEL 2 is the first book in author Lenore Appelhans’ The Memory Chronicles. The second book in the series, LEVEL 3, is slated for release on January 7, 2014.


There are a few books I’m really looking forward to that are coming out on January 15th, but I’ve been dying to read LEVEL 2 for the longest time. Ever since I first heard of it I thought it sounded amazing and I’ve been waiting – not so patiently – for its release. And as it tops my list of anticipated “new” reads for 2013 I absolutely had to choose it as THE book to watch this week.

The idea that there’s an afterlife and it’s one that consists of “podlike chambers” where people are forced to revisit memories of their former existence sounds absolutely chilling. But totally fascinating.

I am so curious to find out just how someone can break in to Level 2. Also, I cannot wait to find out just how those trapped in Level 2 can form a rebellion. They’re dead, after all, so I wonder just what options they do have.

And I am just dying to find out who Felicia’s two loves are and what two worlds and two lives are possibilities for her. It sounds as if the choices she has to make will not be easy.

I am also super curious to know just what’s on Level 3. But I suppose I’ll have to wait until the second book in the series releases in 2014 to find out.

Lenore Appelhans’ imagining of just what the afterlife is sounds so incredibly different from any stories I’ve read about it and I can’t wait to discover it for myself. So, even though there are some other amazing books releasing the week of January 15th that I can’t wait to read – LEVEL TWO is the one I just had to put in the spotlight this week.


Places to Watch

The author on TWITTER

The author’s BLOG

The author on GOODREADS


About the Book

Goodreads description:

Three levels. Two loves. One choice.

Debut novelist, Lenore Appelhans has written a thrilling otherworldly young adult novel about a place that exists between our world (Level 1) and what comes after life (Level 2).

‘I pause to look around the hive – all the podlike chambers are lit up as the drones shoot up on memories … I’ve wanted to get out of here before, but now the tight quarters start to choke me. There has to be more to death than this.’

Felicia Ward is dead. Trapped in a stark white afterlife limbo, she spends endless days replaying memories, of her family, friends, boyfriend … and of the guy who broke her heart. The guy who has just broken into Level 2 to find her.

Felicia learns that a rebellion is brewing, and it seems she is the key. Suspended between heaven and earth, she must make a choice. Between two worlds, two lives and two loves.


Other Amazing Books to Watch

Here are a handful of other awesome books releasing the week of January 15th:

Gates of Paradise (Blue Bloods #7) by Melissa de la Cruz

Summerset Abbey by T.J. Brown

Shades of Earth (Across the Universe #3) by Beth Revis

Return to Me by Justina Chen Headley

Vortex (Tempest #2) by Julie Cross

Previous Post Next Post

You may also like