Facebook Twitter Tumblr Goodreads Amazon RSS

10 THINGS I CAN SEE FROM HERE Blog Tour: ‘Most Challenging Scene’ Guest Post by Carrie Mac

I am super excited to be a part of the tour for Carrie Mac’s 10 THINGS I CAN SEE FROM HERE. When I first learned about this book I knew I would have to read it – and not just because of its gorgeous cover.

As someone who worries a bit more than I should about things I had a feeling Maeve would be a relatable character. And she was. I found myself Googling the stats that were cycling through her head – though I wish I hadn’t looked up the Greyhound Bus story…yikes! I also found myself getting very anxious along with Maeve so I had to take a couple of panic breaks during the read. I’m just so thankful Ms. Mac added in humor to ease some of the tension.

If you’d like to know why I loved 10 THINGS I CAN SEE FROM HERE – feel free to check out my review.

And if you’d like to know which scene was Carrie Mac’s most challenging scene to write, scroll down for her guest post. It is a bit spoiler-y so if you haven’t yet read 10 THINGS I CAN SEE FROM HERE and you don’t like any plot points revealed, you might want to come back after you’ve read it.

But let me just say it was one of my favorite – if most heartbreaking – scenes in the book. It might have been a challenging scene for the author to write but the end result was amazing, devastating, and very real.

So if you just can’t wait to see what that scene was – and get a teeny glimpse/teaser of another important moment in Maeve’s life – scroll down past the bookish details to find out.


About 10 THINGS I CAN SEE FROM HERE

Add to Goodreads

Title: 10 THINGS I CAN SEE FROM HERE
Author: Carrie Mac
Release date: February 28, 2017
Publisher: Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers
Pages: 320
Formats: Hardcover, audio, eBook

Read an EXCERPT

Description…

Perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella’s Finding Audrey and Nicola Yoon’s Everything, Everything, this is the poignant and uplifting story of Maeve, who is dealing with anxiety while falling in love with a girl who is not afraid of anything.
 
Think positive.
Don’t worry; be happy.
Keep calm and carry on.

Maeve has heard it all before. She’s been struggling with severe anxiety for a long time and as much as she wishes it was something she could just talk herself out of, it’s not. When Maeve is sent to Vancouver to live with her dad, her very pregnant stepmom, and her twin six-year-old half brothers, she struggles to rise to the challenge.

Vancouver brings a wide array of new worries, but Maeve finds brief respites—as well as even more worries—in Salix, a local girl who doesn’t seem to worry about anything. Though the summer brings more catastrophes than even Maeve could ever have foreseen, she is able to reach inside herself to find the courage to be there for the ones she loves.

With an exciting love story, and a raw, emotional core, 10 THINGS I CAN SEE FROM HERE is a poingant and uplifting novel perfect for fans of Rainbow Rowell and Sophie Kinsella.

AMAZON | BARNES & NOBLE | iTUNES | INDIEBOUND | PENGUIN RANDOM HOUSE | GOODREADS


Praise

“With Maeve, Mac delivers a character who’s heartwarmingly real and sympathetic, and her story provides a much needed mirror for anxious queer girls everywhere.”—Kirkus, Starred review

“This is a good companion book for other anxiety-riddled stories, such as The Shattering by Karen Healey, and Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella.”—Booklist

“Mac is good at showing how a dread-filled mind works… [An] affecting story.”—Publishers Weekly


The Guest Post

Most Challenging Scene to Write

by Carrie Mac

Of course, spoiler alert. If you go ahead and read about my most challenging scene to write, you are going to get insider info about the story that you might not want to know. So, now that you’ve been warned, let’s chat.

I glanced at this question and figured I’d come back to it because it would be easy to answer when I had a few spare moments. But then I came back to it, and I realize that it’s not easy to answer. It’s a really good question, and it’s a tricky answer.

Most challenging scene? Of the whole book?

It took me a while, but I did come to a decision.

The most challenging scene to write is when Maeve finds her neighbor – and friend – dead next door.

Not many people have come across a body of a person who died suddenly. I have. Dozens of times when I was a paramedic. I got called to that very scene in its unfictionalized state. So, as much as I love Maeve and wanted to stay with her during this upsetting scene, I jumped in with my old paramedic uniform on and went at it from the EMT angle.

That was the first draft.

Uh, no.

I wrote myself out of the scene very quickly, by the second draft, if not sooner.

But a lot of the paramedic – and medical – stuff remained, so I had to write that out too. Then I took Maeve’s hand and properly wrote her in. But I had to be mindful of her sensitive nature, and let her feel all the fear and shock and panic, but let her find enough strength within to keep the story going, even when she comes to the realization that she actually killed Mrs. Patel (read the novel to find out if that’s true or not).

Then I had to bring back the paramedics and the police and make sure they didn’t take over the scene (as EMTs and cops tend to do), and then I had to return Maeve to her family and have her day continue, as crippled as she was.

That scene got the most rewrites of all, I think. Followed shortly by the birth-in-the-parking-lot scene, which I had to rewrite several times for exactly the same reasons, except that is a joyful scene. Because Mrs. Patel’s death is tragic, the atmosphere was dark, and harder to portray without dragging the story down too much, and so that’s why it was the most challenging scene to write.

All told, I did a mighty fine job, thank you very much. And by all told I mean, about ten rewrites, at least.


About Carrie Mac

Award-winning author Carrie Mac is well-known for her adeptness at captivating young adult audiences; she has written ten books for young adults, and won the 2010 Sheila A. Egoff Book Prize for her previous work, The Gryphon Project. She lives with her family in Vancouver, BC.

WEBSITE | TWITTER | FACEBOOK | INSTAGRAM | GOODREADS


The Tour Schedule

Week One

Week Two

Week Three

Week Four

Week Five


Copyright © 2010-2017 Fiktshun. Theme Designed by Parajunkee.

Pin It on Pinterest