Facebook Twitter Tumblr Goodreads Amazon RSS
Fiktshun - All Things Fiction

Review: Uninvited

Uninvited

add

UNINVITED by Sophie Jordan was released in the U.S. on January 28, 2014, in hardcover, audio and eBook formats. It is currently available to order online in all formats at AMAZON and BARNES & NOBLE.

Published by HarperTeen, the print edition is 384 pages.

UNINVITED is the first book in a new series by Author Sophie Jordan.

Note: This review is based on an eARC received from the publisher via Edelweiss in exchange for my honest thoughts about the book.

Dots_Divider

Description…

The Scarlet Letter meets Minority Report in bestselling author Sophie Jordan’s chilling new novel about a teenage girl who is ostracized when her genetic test proves she’s destined to become a murderer.

When Davy Hamilton’s tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome (HTS)-aka the kill gene-she loses everything. Her boyfriend ditches her, her parents are scared of her, and she can forget about her bright future at Juilliard. Davy doesn’t feel any different, but genes don’t lie. One day she will kill someone.

Only Sean, a fellow HTS carrier, can relate to her new life. Davy wants to trust him; maybe he’s not as dangerous as he seems. Or maybe Davy is just as deadly.

The first in a two-book series, Uninvited tackles intriguing questions about free will, identity, and human nature. Steeped in New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan’s trademark mix of gripping action and breathless romance, this suspenseful tale is perfect for fans of James Patterson, Michelle Hodkin, and Lisa McMann.

Dots_Divider

Sophie Jordan’s UNINVITED is an incredibly exciting, chilling, thought-provoking and immensely entertaining read that takes readers to a future where someone’s propensity to kill can be predicted by genetic testing. It is a dark, suspenseful, edge-of-your-seat story that is at times shocking, at others heartbreaking, but at all times utterly captivating.

Davy Hamilton wasn’t a killer. Just because a test told her she was, that one day she would kill someone, didn’t mean she was ready to accept that fact. She was a musician. She was headed to Juilliard. She was popular. She was in love. There was just no way she could be this person the test for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome said she was.

But just because she couldn’t believe it, didn’t mean others couldn’t. Her friends, her boyfriend, even her family were so ready to believe. So willing to turn their back on her when she needed them the most.

If everyone was so certain, then maybe it was true. Maybe being branded a killer and thrown into a new life she was completely unprepared for would make it true.

Maybe having nothing left to lose would turn her into the killer she was meant to be.

Davy is an incredibly sympathetic, relatable and likable character. The absolutely heartbreaking situation she is forced to face will have readers rooting for her from the moment she is given her life-changing news, hoping that she meets someone to help her find a way to exist in her new reality, and wishing that someone will be Sean O’Rourke.

Sophie Jordan has imagined a bleak, disturbing and frighteningly realistic future in UNINVITED. She presents an interesting ethical and moral dilemma with her HTS test. By giving readers a main character whose violent tendencies aren’t readily apparent, whose behavior and life seem as if they’d never head in that direction, she takes on the question of causation. By beginning each chapter with a peek at just what else is going on in her world, she invites more questions, offers more food for thought.

And she does all this in a way that is gripping, fascinating and completely engrossing.

UNINVITED blends together science fiction, action and romance, places it in a dystopian setting, adds in tension, thrills, chills, heartache and drama, challenges readers to think, and delivers it via an engaging main character in an exceptionally written and unputdownable story.

Reviewer gives this book…

6

Like In-N-Out Burger‘s infamous secret menu this one deserves my off-the-menu 6 star rating.

On a personal note…

When I read the description for UNINVITED I knew it was going to be a story I liked. It sounded a bit different. It sounded a bit dark. And it was written by an incredibly talented author. But what I didn’t expect was for it to be as amazing as it was. I didn’t expect to be given so much to think about. I didn’t expect to fall as in love with it as I did.

I didn’t expect for it to be my favorite read this year.

UNINVITED is not just an exciting read with a likable main character, a swoon-worthy boy, an interesting, action-filled plot. It has all that in spades. But it offers so much more. The ideas, the realities are depressing, chilling, terrifying.

The concept of an identifiable “kill gene” invites so many questions. Questions that the author not only handles brilliantly in her book but invites you to think about during and after the read.

I can’t tell you how many times I put the book down and pondered, “But, what if…” or “Would this have happened if not for….”

I did not expect to be as engaged with the story as I was. It was such an incredible surprise.

But UNINVITED is not just about the stuff to think about. There are some awesome – and not so awesome *cough* Zac *cough* – characters. I absolutely loved getting to know Davy. My heart went out to her from the very start. Everything she went through from the moment she was labeled to the moment where… well, it’s a spoiler-y moment, so I’ll leave it at that. And Sean. He was an insta-love character for me. Mysterious. Dangerous. Perfect.

This story gave me the chills. I’m talking heebie jeebies. It took me on an emotional roller coaster ride. And it wasn’t just Davy who caused my heart to plummet, but her brother, others in her situation… the maybe/possibly innocent ones. It was enthralling and disturbing and I was totally consumed by each and every word, every moment.

Davy’s life was completely derailed. She was forced into a situation that no one should be in. She was made to endure things she never should have had to. It was horrifying. It was heartbreaking. It made for an absolutely amazing story.

If was allowed to only recommend one book this year – I hope that reality, much like Davy’s reality, never comes to be – it would definitely be UNINVITED.

Favorite passage…

This entire book is amazing. But I do have a favorite scene which contains a few of my favorite passages. Here are just a few lines which I think say it all.

His mouth flattens into a grim line. “I was used to being nothing.”

nothing who showed up here today when I needed someone most.

nothing who marched into the bathroom when Brockman cornered me.

nothing who picked me up when I was stranded and out past curfew.

A myriad of responses rush to my lips. “You’re not nothing.” You’re here.

Note: This review is based on an eARC received from the publisher in exchange for my honest thoughts about the book.

Posted in Book Reviews, Fiction | Tags: , , , , ,

8 Responses to “Review: Uninvited”

  1. Agreed! I loved loved loved this book so much! It’s not just a gread read, but it’s a book that makes you stop and thinking and ask yourself questions!
    Great review!

  2. Farrah says:

    This book was definitely amazing in every way. I can’t think of a single thing that I didn’t totally adore about it. And, I’m so excited for the sequel! I can’t wait to see what happens next. Lovely review :)

    • Fiktshun009 says:

      Thank you! And me too. It was kinda perfect. I just wish the sequel was coming out right now. The author mentioned she was finishing up edits. Hoping for teasers.

  3. Jessica @ a GREAT read says:

    OOoh nice review! I can’t wait to read this one myself! Have heard a slew of great things and love reading more and more positive reviews! Again, great review!

    • Fiktshun009 says:

      Thank you so much! I hope you get the chance to read it soon. It’s really amazing. You can just tell the author put a lot of thought into it so it’s much more than just great writing and characters.

  4. Awesome review! Uninvited sounds amazing and truly one-of-a-kind. I definitely wouldn’t want to have Davy’s reality but I wish to know how she and everyone else deals with it.

    • Fiktshun009 says:

      TYSM Melissa! It really is quite different in the YA space for sure. But it’s such a fantastic mix of ideas, so it’s not too much of the science or the action or the romance. It has this perfect balance. And yeah oh my gosh Davy’s reality is horrible. And while I don’t want to spoil anything, I’ll just say that there is a wide variety of reactions to the situation Davy finds herself in. Can’t wait to hear what you think when you read it!

Leave a Reply

Theme Designed by Parajunkee. Copyright © 2014 Fiktshun.